cyber deals: get $100 in rewards when you spend $300 or more shop now

cyber deals: 25% off one single item get offer

get 30% off + free shipping with Welcome Rewards+! enroll now

free same day delivery on order over $39! shop now

PL8 Professional Mandoline

245 Reviews

$99.99
4.5

245 reviews ·277 ratings

94%

Would recommend

179 recommendations

5
208
4
36
3
7
2
7
1
19
4.7

Quality

4.6

Value

4.6

Ease of Use

Most Helpful Positive Review

Too easy to use and too good to not own

TheChief.7 years ago
Recommended

My wife and I were ready to drop almost $300.00 for a French made mandoline until we got smart and read the reviews and watched the on-line videos for that slicer and the PL8 Mandoline. The almost $300.00 French made mandoline was shown to be just too complicated to use without a degree in mechanical engineering so we purchased the PL8 and immediately put it to work. I was able to slice tomatoes, cucumbers, radishes, and onions for a veggie sandwich without any trouble at all. The tomatoes were uniform in thickness with no frayed edges. We made paper thin slices of the cucumbers, radishes, and onions - this was just too easy to do. We sliced the cucumbers lengthwise holding it place with the safety hand guard just like it was shown in one of the videos - which is not the case with some other slicers that required you to hand feed cucumbers and other long veggies which just begs for cut fingers. Dialing the thickness of the cuts was easy and not having to handle cutting blades makes this slicer very safe to use - at least for me. The learning curve for this slicer was about 15 seconds after glancing at the enclosed instruction booklet. Clean-up was a breeze under running water although it is dishwasher safe. In my opinion, and in addition to all the positives of this madolin, the lifetime warranty makes this a best buy. BTW, although in one of the on-line videos it was stated that you could not dice with the PL8 - that is not true, at least as far as onions are concerned. We applied a little common sense and were able to produce a bowl of finely diced onions.

Most Helpful Critical Review

Screw broken and no way to replace

Sylvia of Oakland.7 years ago
Not Recommended

I purchased this several years ago from BB&B (still have my receipt). Use it about once or twice a year. When I went to use it during Xmas 2021, the knob towards the top (with the numbers) came off and the screw can not be repositioned. I contacted the manufacturer who said it cannot be fixed once the knob comes out, The BB&B website states that there is a lifetime warranty. This was an expensive item and given the few times I've used this mandoline, this shouldn't have happened. At the very least, the company should replace the item. I would not recommend this product.

customer reviews

Showing 1 - 20 out of 245 reviews

So fun to use!

Baby boomer . 3 months ago

I've been wanting one of these for a while now. I love my new slicer. We never eat out. I cook all the time and this makes life easier. I've sliced potatoes, onions and julienned carrots. There is a learning curve but overall, everything came out great. I will just have to learn what thickness works best. It's a little awkward to clean but well worth it for the results. The only downside is the stand doesn't exactly lock into place but it's still a great product!

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Robert . 9 months ago

Good but a little hard to use

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Very disappointed

BB&B Customer . 9 months ago

This does not do what it is supposed to. I used it to slice onions for my onion soup and it did a poor job. Had to wind up slicing by hand.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

So far - excellent

DIYSC . 10 months ago

I've only used this to slice cooked ham and an onion so far, but it worked flawlessly. Nice thin slices of ham for sandwiches, and excellent sliced onion too.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Screw broken and no way to replace

Sylvia of Oakland . 11 months ago

I purchased this several years ago from BB&B (still have my receipt). Use it about once or twice a year. When I went to use it during Xmas 2021, the knob towards the top (with the numbers) came off and the screw can not be repositioned. I contacted the manufacturer who said it cannot be fixed once the knob comes out, The BB&B website states that there is a lifetime warranty. This was an expensive item and given the few times I've used this mandoline, this shouldn't have happened. At the very least, the company should replace the item. I would not recommend this product.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Loving this Mandoline

Practicalgirl . 11 months ago

I was able to cut mounds of onions super thin in short time. Have used to slice potatoes & carrots so far. Made our Christmas potato au gratin come together very fast. Four Stars is due to being disappointed with the Waffle cut. The instructions were confusing but once we figured it out the cutting was easy however, the pieces were so thin it turned out to be more of a potato chip and quickly burned when trying to cook them in the oven. Will experiment with this more.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Useful

Christine . 11 months ago

This is a useful kitchen tool. I think we will have to use it more to get used to how it functions. Didn’t have a successful first try with making waffle fries. We tried using a sweet potato- maybe that was part of the problem. Julienned sweet potato was easier and we made hashbrowns out of it.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Perfect

elca . 12 months ago

The best feature is that I really get to slice the vegetable down to 1/8" unlike others where you start hearing and feeling the stakes hit the sharp edge making you twinge and you end up with an inch thick vegetable on the slicer.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Ok Mandoline

Marnie21 . 1 year ago

I bought this mandoline to make it easier cutting sweet potatoes, and liked the other features. I was able to cut sweet potatoes for my hash brown recipe. Although, because of the prongs in the hand guard to secure the vegetable, I can only cut down so far, then I have to cut the rest by hand or waste a fair bit of the potato. Overall it cuts well. Cleaning food out of some of the parts can be a little challenging. I was looking forward to making waffle fries, but I could not get those to come out right. Using it requires a bit of effort so when my arthritis is bothering me I have to forego using the mandoline.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Gift was not wrapped upon delivery

BB&B Customer . 1 year ago

I sent a bridal shower gift to my friend, and it was regular packaging in a brown box. It was embarrassing and I was definitely disappointed because I was charged for a service, meant for a special occasion, and gift should have been wrapped.

Works real well

elca . 1 year ago

Nice, sturdy, heavy duty, 3 levels of thickness plus a protective guide - have had accident before. Scary.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

A Disapointment

Mildly Upset . 2 years ago

Works well for slicing, but creates a mess while julienning and you still have to cut by hand the part that the mandolin can't handle.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

No Complaints

Rosebud . 2 years ago

This is a good mandolin and works well, cleans easily and is very easy to operate. It was recommended to me by a relative who bought one and had done significant research prior to purchasing this mandolin.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Husband loves it !

Jessica . 2 years ago

So how many wives sneak purchase into the home that they want, but not needed, in hopes that the hubby doesn't notice the new kitchen thing. Well I got busted this time, but much to my surprise he LOVES IT! He uses it all the time. It's well made, sturdy, glides easily, and cleans up in a breeze. I'd by another in a heartbeat!

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

MAKE A DIFFERENCE

Deborah . 2 years ago

Love this slicer, truly makes life easier for everything that i have had to slice. highly recommend.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Totally satisfied with my purchase thus far.

Grizz . 2 years ago

Love this product. Only problem I see is that for small amounts or batches may be easier to just use your knife skills. Larger portions it is great.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Great

Donna Martucci . 2 years ago

It came on time. Everything works great

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Not What It's Cracked Up To Be

Peter . 2 years ago

While the idea of a mandoline sounds like it would make a cook's job easier, it really doesn't, at least not this one. First, the prongs on the safety guide really prevent you from slicing anything completely, so you either end up finishing the job by hand or wasting part of the food, and it is awkward to use. Second, I can slice and dice almost anything just as fast and consistently enough with a hand knife and it's less to clean up afterward. Third, I bought this hoping to be able to make waffle cut fries but the video of the product being used is extremely misleading because it makes it look like one pass produces perfect waffle fries, but that is not the case. Even after reading the instructions multiple times, I've yet to figure out just exactly how you run a potato back through this machine a second pass on a 90 degree turn from the first pass to accomplish the task. Needless to say I'm not all that happy with this purchase and consider it a waste of money. The only reason I gave it 2 stars is it does work okay for simple slicing and dicing, so I can't say it doesn't work at all, it just isn't a time saver, it doesn't make the job any easier, and it doesn't do what I wanted to be able to do with it anything like it appeared in that video. If anyone can educate me on how to use it differently to overcome the shortcomings I described above, I'm open to suggestions.

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Well built.

Lesa . 2 years ago

Always wanted a mandoline so I splurged on this professional model. It is super well built and folds flat to easily tuck away into a cabinet. Several settings I haven't experimented with, but what I have used works well. Only reason for just 4 stars is that the little thing you can put your fruit or veggie in (large tomatoes) isn't quite large enough and I like the safety of being able to use it .

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

great

ira . 2 years ago

classic best

LogoOriginally posted on bedbathbeyond.com

Showing 1 - 20 out of 245 reviews